Sears Canada Warranty Service

by Sea Hag

My Sears Kenmore Front  Loading washer needs service under warranty. First, I phone the 800 number to be told that it will be at least a 15 minute wait. It was. Meanwhile I grab my cell phone & call local store to complain about the wait to ANYONE. After listening to an advertisement & then going thorugh the push this number and that one, after some 10 rings an employee finally transfers me to a suitable manager - BUT have to leave a voice message which I did. After about 17 minutes, I get transferred to a ringing extension, then dead silence - have I been cut off? I had to move now to another floor where I had my applicance information & did not hang up although I did think I was now cut off. Whew - someone answered & apologized for long wait saying they were short staffed. The short story is that I have an appointment (servce person will call to confirm approx time) on Friday. This is Monday. I do mega loads of laundry in a week - this is acceptable service? And we haven’t even got to Friday - will they have to order parts? So I am left in a quandary, do I call my usual wonderful service folks, Dependable Applicances in Kingston, who will likely be able to get here today or tomorrow latest to determine the problem or wait for Friday & take my laundry to the laundromat (not close). This is not my first complaint with Sears service but I have work to do NOW.

62 Responses to “Sears Canada Warranty Service”


  1. 0

    serra says...

    I have vowed NEVER to buy another major appliance from sears…ever!!! They just don’t back their products like they used to!!!
    By the way…the Sears Kingston store has to be the worse for “being short staffed”…i’ve had that response before as well

  2. 0

    fanofearl says...

    I guess that I’m not the only one to have trouble with Sears over a washer! We bought a front loader just under 2 years ago and for the last few months it smells so bad when we use it that it clears the basement. We’ve tried everything after realizing that we should have been leaving the door open all the time - bleach, borax, Cascade. No mention of this in the owners manual, of course. When I went to Sears (because I just couldn’t wait on the phone forever), they sold me yet another ‘cleaner’ that didn’t work and practically chastised me for not buying the extended warranty and argued that it was mentioned in the manual to leave the door open, when it definitely was not. I was then told that even to book a service call, it would be $80, plus time charges while there. Throughout this time, I have been looking online for any kind of suggestions to fix this problem short of dismantling the entire machine. To make a long story short, one of the only things I have learned is that Sears is not the company that it used to be when it comes to customer service. I would not buy an applicance at Sears again, they do not stand over their products.

  3. 0

    protecteur says...

    The sad part is that Sears actually owns all appliances in North America! they both them all and this is fact!! Thats why they usually beat the compition which actually both them from the sears own distributer! I would call there customer sevice and ask to speak to the president of the company and he never refuses a customer! Also I would also go see the local store and raise a big fuss and I am pretty shoure they will move quicker!

  4. 0

    Renate says...

    I bought a lawn tractor from Sears, for 1700$ broke down after using 3 times. Have to wait until the 17th for a service appt, today is the 9th, it broke down in middle of cutting my lawn. When I called Sears, the rep did not even listen to what I said, kept repeating stupid stuff. Its not the service I expected from Sears.

  5. 0

    cookieface says...

    I bought a dishwasher at Sears almost 4 years ago and just discovered that the LOCK button does not work on it. I have NEVER used the button to lock my dishwasher before but I need it now because my toddler knows how to open the dishwasher. So I use the button for the first time to discover it DOES NOT LOCK. Needless to say I was not happy. I had already have a Sears repairman come to fix a blown fuse on the dishwasher twice. I’m aware of the $90 fee for the repairman to just come to your door. I called customer service and waited almost 30 minutes for someone to pick up a phone. Then I finally talked to a CSR and ultimately nothing was done. She just said because it’s not under warranty it’s up to me if I want to pay the fee to get it fixed. For all I know it wasn’t ever working in the first place.

    Why can’t they just make appliances that work!! Don’t think I’ll buy from Sears again.

  6. 0

    Ruby Adams says...

    It is not only Sears that provide terrible service.Here in St.J

  7. 0

    Ruby Adams says...

    It is not only Sears that provide terrible service.Here Cohens provide quite a bit of bad service also. We had purchased all our household appliances at Cohens for years.We have moved several times so it has amounted to a lot of sales.We purchased the extended warranty and the sales people were super.Our beautiful -stainless steel- double door- top of the line- whirlpool gold which cost us an arm and a leg split on the inside wall in several places.We had our extended warranty which we were told covered everything and of course encouraged us to get and after months of excuses had to go to the better business bureau.Bottom line they did not care.Their buy now -pay later business was doing so well in this economy a little bad business did not hurt them.After years of dealing with this company they failed miserably to honor the warranty and for us to see a lawyer- well you know the story.So beware .It is truly hard to find big business with honor these days but I am sure they are out there.

  8. 0

    Consumer32 says...

    My parents bought a VERY expensive mattress from Sears. After less than 5 years the area where they sleep was very badly sunken in. They called and spoke with several different people, both at the store and their customer service line. Finally someone came to “evaluate” the mattress dents. My parents were told that even though the mattress has a 25 year warranty, the dents - which were extremely noticeable to the naked eye, did not warrant a new mattress. The guy has some kind of measuring tool and it has to be sunk more than a certain amount of inches and their mattress didn’t qualify. Can you believe it! You spend over $2,000 on a mattress set and less than 5 years later they don’t even back their warranty! My entire family has vowed NEVER to purchase major appliances/furniture from Sears again.

  9. 0

    newb says...

    Not only did the Sears repairman do the repair under warranty but gave us valuable tips on how to avoid a repeat of the problem..seal failure on front load washer. We wont shop anywhere BUT Sears Windsor for major appliances..

  10. 0

    cookieface says...

    The Sears repairman that came the first time for my dishwasher was helpful. He told me about how much it costs to fix things on appliances ( $400.00 for a dishwasher motor,$600.00 for the washer/dryer if mechanical stuff goes wrong because it’s all computerized now. $300.00 if even your clock doesn’t work on your stove. At least it gave us an idea if it’s worth it to fix it or buy a new one when something breaks.

    He kept saying I don’t work for Sears but….(they were a contracted out company but still works for Sears) you should get the extended warranty. It won’t cost you a penny if something breaks. Well it would cost me because you have to make payments just like anything else to cover yourself for insurance. Not the cost of the repair but it’s a gamble. For the money you can pay to Sears you can probably just buy a new appliance.

  11. 0

    Kim says...

    Just in case anyone is not yet bored with these Sears complaints about their “warranty” program.

    I bought my gas range, washer/dryer/, fridge and dishwasher from Sears (Sherway Gardens) earlier this year (Jan 2009) and got their Protection Agreement Plan which includes their highly touted “Annual Maintenance Check” (#19 of their fine print).

    I noticed that the burner in my gas range was not working so I called up (Sep 13, 2009) 2 weeks ago the Sears Customer Service (1-800-469-4663) to book an appointment. The earliest then was Sep 21 (Monday) and so I asked that it be booked on Sep 24 AM (Thursday) so I can arrange for time off from work. I was booked for Sep 24 between 8am - 12nn.

    It’s 2:30pm now Sep 24 and there’s no one or no calls from Sears.

    10:00 AM : I called the customer service number and I was told that they will be there before 12 noon. And that they have also sent a message to the technician to call me to advise of his time of arrival.

    12:30 PM : I called to let them now that no one showed up. The CS agent said that she was sending a “priority service message” so that someone would call me back within 30 minutes.

    01:30 PM: I called again the customer service since no one showed up or even bothered to call. I asked if I can speak with the last CS agent (I gave the name) to speak with her directly. They said they see that I called and saw the notes but they have no way of knowing WHO wrote the note and they have no way of trasferring the call. I knew it was just BS. They transferred me to their Corporate Customer Service and after waiting for 15 minutes on hold, someone picked up. She said she’s sending a “911″ call so someone would call. And that if no one will call back by end of the day, to call them back tomorrow morning.

    Lesson learned: If you’re buying something from Sears and you need to pay even just a cent for their Protection Agreement Plan, please save your cent. You will save a cent and you will save yourself guaranteed grief. No matter how diligent you are in setting any appointment or follow-up, it’s absolute zilch value since the other person (Sears) on the other line has absollutely no credibility. If you do buy a Protection Agreement Plan with the hope that you will hit the jackpot that you will actually get a fraction of the service that you expected, just don’t put too much faith on their word.

  12. 0

    Julie says...

    I bought a Craftsman lawn mower last September, and used it once before it was put away for winter.
    My story is so very, very long, it is not even funny, nor do I have the time to write it all down of what I went through with many, many frustrating phone calls, unanswered phone calls and generally, nothing being done.
    After 2 months of absolutely terrible service (yes, it is under warranty) to get it fixed, I finally got it back.
    I started it up, and within 10 minutes the EXACT same thing happened and it wouldn’t start again.
    I kicked the *^*&^* thing all the way to my backyard where I have left a $500 piece of equipment to sit and rot.
    Sears has NOT honoured their product at all and have sold me a defective lawn mower that even their own repairman cannot fix, but refuse to replace it.
    AFTER 25 YEARS OF BEING A FAITHFUL SEARS CUSTOMER, I WILL NEVER, EVER BUY A SEARS PRODUCT AGAIN!
    Thanks for nothing, Sears. I hope everyone who reads this changes their mind about spending money at your store. You care nothing about customer service, backing up your warranty, or pride in the products you sell.

  13. 0

    Jane Johnston says...

    After 4 months my new front loader would not spin, wold not rinse, in fact the machine was dead….. I had to wait 3 weeks for the new parts. Pump and Mother Board were broken….it had been used may 6 or 7 times … I had to drive 30km to the laundry. That was month ago, and now it is starting to play up again !! I have asked for a new machine as it is obviously that this one is a ‘lemon’ Sears refused ….If only I could find a good brand from another source.

  14. 0

    Ticked Off Customer says...

    We’ve been waiting since December 6 (it’s now January 11) to get out furnace repaired from an installation error we just noticed. I’ve classed parts and services, installations, the guy who sold us the unit, gone to the store personally, and still have a broken furnace. I’ve logged HOURS on the phone with various Sears departments, and we’re scared to see our gas bill from having to heat out house with our gas fireplace for a month.
    When we had our kitchen applianced delivered, the delivery guys said our fridge was too heavy for three guys to carry and had to make a second appointment for four guys to come back, only to have 3 of the actually carry the fridge!!
    We will never buy from SEARS again!!

  15. 0

    Aurelio Hepper says...

    So very glad I found this truly great site

  16. 0

    Joe Smith says...

    i’m a CSR agent from sears canada, based elsewhere.. there’s a lot of things sears canada is doing that is very unsatisfactory. i know for the fact that i am working with sears canada.. i, myself, is very disappointed with what sears is doing to their customer. i mean they are like avoiding paying the customers expense for the broken appliance though it is still under protection agreement or exted warranty (what the hell with that). they are not that good towards their employees. eventhough i wanna help out to customers experiencing poor quality of service but i can’t i can just process their part orders, catalog orders, and make service schedule. there are certain protocols that i really need to follow (it’s because i’m under them). sometimes i’m being chased by guilt. in terms of the level of service that i have provided them. and especially with the CALL AVOID thing… they are just doing it to avoid paying for the customers expence for having a repair.. i do hope that this post could help some customerws.

    just try to understand my post it’s a little messy..
    GOD BLESS to all..

  17. 0

    ms.p'eeved says...

    Yet another complaint here! My stove was purchased in late 2006. So far the oven door has rusted along all of the seams on the outside. Secondly, the left back corner of the stove has a oven vent. The heat from this vent has peeled away the paint and has left a yellow streak up the front of the area where the dials are located. Last night the burners ‘exploded’, it was loud like a shotgun or firecracker, it was loud enough to hurt my right ear to the point it was numb for about 2 hours afterwards. I called sears and was speaking with a man from customer service that was an ignorant prick. He could not promise me that I would not be charged if a service person came to look at the stove. Yes, I wouldn’t pay for person to come to my house (no way to document this), but customer service could not promise that additional charges would not be made once the technician arrived. The customer service guy ended up getting angry and he kept repeating to me that all I was ‘looking for was a blank cheque to be handed over to me.’ Who says that to a customer?? All I wanted was someone to document that my poor stove is a fire hazzard, not to be accused of wanting free ride. So,think twice before buying from sears. My oven is shot and it did not last 5 years and there is nothing I can do. I should add that my washer and dryer I bought around the same time are also rusted and peeling. I am from a household of two professional people, so the wear and tear does not add up to the rusting of these appliances. As a new homeowner, I wish I had chosen my appliance purchace more wisely. I hope things go better for others who are reading this.

  18. 0

    Karen says...

    I agree with all the above. I will never buy from Sears ever again.

    Long story short - the burner on my oven burnt out. Sears sent over a technician he didn’t even look in the oven, said that the computer system is completely dead (obviously the most expensive part). He sent the piece away to be fixed. Three and a half weeks later Sears calls and says that the technician thats suppose to come over to install the computer system called in sick so they don’t have anyone to do it. 1 week later another technician comes in to install the piece only to realize that the piece they ordered was the wrong colour. So, the piece was sent back to be refurbished. What happened next? 3 weeks later the piece comes back, a technician installs it.. and it doesn’t work. Turns out that it was the burner that was burnt all along. EXACTLY WHAT I CALLED IN FOR. So the piece got sent back again and I got a new burner. So now Sears will probably charge for the back and forth on the computer part as well as the technicians time. So last Friday I got a call from a Sears employee saying to expect a call from a Sears manager Saturday because this is absolutely ridicous…. it’s now a week later, stove isn’t fixed and never received a phone call. Could you live without a stove when you have children and guests for two months counting? Absolutely ridious!!!!!!!
    Can I add one more thing? one of the technicians told me that his manager told him to tell people that ‘ITS BBQ SEASON, USE YOUR BBQ INSTEAD OF YOUR STOVE”!!!!! are you SERIOUS!!! great customer service - YA RIGHT!
    I’m expecting a baby and WILL NOT purchase anything for this child from sears and neither will anyone that’s invited to my shower. SO disappointed!

  19. 0

    FRUSTRATED says...

    I have a 7 month old dishwasher that started leaking water 5 weeks ago. I have had 2 technicians service it. It still leaks. Sears won’t do anything. They keep telling me that the technician is a contractor and they have no control over contractors. So, I’m left with a broken dishwashers and contractors that don’t care.
    DON’T BUY YOUR APPLIANCES FROM SEARS. You may pay a little more at a local appliance store, but at least you will get good local service.

  20. 0

    Susie says...

    Do not waste your MONEY to buy a SEARS warranty, it isn’t worth your time when they do not keep to their scheduled appt times…
    I have been without a washer for two weeks…and they are supposed to have been here again today but no show as of yet…its crazy. Never will I purchase anything from SEARS again due to their poor customer service,
    I should have just called my own repairman…regardless of the warranty as the time wasted on waiting for them to come is ridiculous.
    I am so fed up with SEARS.

  21. 0

    Indignant says...

    This is a complaint about the people who call from Sears just before the one-year manufacturer’s warranty is up to try to sell you an extended warranty. A fellow called me last week and tried to pressure and intimidate me into buying the extended protection plan. When I said I didn’t want one, he demanded to know the reason why not. I told him I don’t need to give him a reason. He persisted and reminded me that I’d already had two service visits out within the first 6 months for the fridge I had purchased, and that it would have cost me X amount of dollars had it not been under warranty. Since he brought it up, I proceeded to express my dissatisfaction with those service calls, which were related to the icemaker in the freezer not automatically stopping making ice when full, i.e., arm doesn’t go up on its own, and hence, I have to remember to keep checking how full it is and turn it off manually. The service person was never able to fix this and basically just told us to continue to do it manually. As I was explaining all this to the salesperson over the phone, I realized there was complete silence on the other end and that he had disconnected me! I guess he realized there was no hope of making a sale, so he actually hung up on me! THIS is a prime example of Sears’ “excellent” customer service. I called the number on my display back and got another fellow who claimed there was no supervisor there, but feigned interest and took my complaint down, stating that a supervisor would call me back by the next day. It’s now been a week and a half and I’ve heard nothing, and certainly don’t expect to. I’m sure that no complaint was ever logged. Needless to say, I will be staying far away from Sears when my washer, dryer and oven will need replacing in the next couple of years.

  22. 0

    sandy says...

    I will never be shopping at Sears again!!
    I purchased a LG convection oven at Sears ( which l way overpaid for)
    I did not purchase the extended warranty and after a year the front burner stopped working my sister has the same stove and had the same problem so when l called Sears l explained l did not need a service call l just needed the part replaced well to my amazement the repairman showed up with no part did not even touch my stove and was very rude to me then he had the nerve to charge me 90$ he said he was going out to his truck to print my receipt and instead he just took off WHAT A WAY TO TREAT YOUR CUSTOMERS! I phoned head office and explained it is now 3 weeks later and l still have no burner and l paid some guy 90$ to abuse me verbally in my own home plus if l want them to put the burner unit in l will have to pay again I am sick and tired of being ripped off by these companies that l am closing my account and l will never shop at Sears again You are better to take your business to a big box store and don’t buy the extended warranty just get your own service guy someone local to whom your business will count DON’T SHOP AT SEARS YOUR BUSINESS DOES NOT COUNT WHEN YOU NEED HELP!!!!!!!

  23. Thanks for taking the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love learning more on this topic.

  24. 0

    JT says...

    I have had both good/bad experiences with Sears but also with Leons, The Brick, Futureshop, Visions, different manufacturers… unfortunately many companies. What I have learned is that every repair is different, some are easy, some more difficult and unfortunately you can’t get same day repair service and I realized a long time ago that expectation will never happen. The biggest problem that I have is speaking with knowledgeable/well trained customer service people…… if I know my issue is being documented correctly I’m prepared to wait for the service call. If eveyone got same day service the cost would be more than it is now so I don’t sweat it, you get what you sow.

  25. 0

    Suba says...

    We got a 18.5 Cu. ft Kenmore Refrigerator with 3 years service warranty from Sears Canada Kelowna on Oct-2009 & got the service of transport itself from sears. 6 months later it was appeared some cracks in the freezer.As it was little & we was busy that time we couldn’t call for sears for the service at that time.4-5 months later the cracks was expand & then we call to Sears Canada service to come & do it repair if possible.Two days later one service guy come & say that only one can do for him to do it repair was put some glue kind of thing but he cannot say whether it is fix or not as it is a configuration error. So he call to somebody regarding this to tell that is not repairable & he couldn’t get a favorable answer . So he leave me their head office customer service no & tell them the situation. So we did as he said, but no respond at all until one month. Then again we call to the customer service & tell the story & they send another service guy & he also recommended the same repairmen t & we didn’t agreed.Then again we call customer service & they said they have no other option as they beleav that can be repair. Do any body know some body or company who can help me to help to solve this problem?

  26. 0

    Love Sears! says...

    Wow! I’m stunned to read all the dissatisfied Sears customers. We’ve purchased many a large ticket item from Sears over the past many years, for the only reason that their service is second to none. I live in Regina,SK so not sure if that’s what the difference is, but we’ve had warranty work done on a washer, couple of times on a treadmill, an air conditioner… we’ve never been dissatisfied. I agree the calls to “extend” or “purchase” additional warranty are extremely annoying, being on hold on a 1-800# is equally annoying, but we’ve been more than happy with the service we’ve been provided. We’re building a new home, and will be purchasing $15,000 worth of new appliances within the next few months, and plan on buying everything from Sears.

  27. 0

    Aaron & Alice says...

    We’re still waiting “for a part” on our ‘less than a year old’ kenmore dryer. What good is buying so called extended service is there simply is none? 5 Business days for the first service call, which canceled the day of, 5 more days until the next call; which yup, canceled the day of … so 3 plus weeks later we’re still dryer-less waiting for “a part” to come in. I pledge all my social media energy to ruining Sear’s name forever. Get this! I have an anti sears Facebook ad running; I’m so happy to know thousands of people are seeing my ad. Sears, you deserve to go into receivership you obsolete house of mothballs and idiots!

    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_124268650967059

  28. 0

    Kevin H says...

    Bought a portable dishwasher back in May of 2010- used it 4 months, no problems. Then in September the machine starts to leave a bit more water than usual at the bottom of the tub. As stated in the manual, some water is normal- fine. By October the machine has big issues draining properly, to the point where no water would drain and the machine would shut down.

    Fortunately the machine is under the manufactor’s first year warranty.

    I call Sears service the first time, all very friendly and pleasant enough- although trying to sell me dishwasher cleaner AND THEN a Sears mastercard (yeah, right, at 29% interest) I found annoying.

    The technician comes, turns the machine on and it starts to drain with a horrible hissing noise. “Looks fine to me” he says. To which I say, NO, it is not working right- sometimes there is no water coming out, other times not fast enough to change the water completely, and other times a slow dribble” So techinician starts to dismantle the pump- nothing, dismantles the wash arms- nothing. He says “I can’t find anything wrong, I try one more time” and pluggs the machine back in AND sure enough- its starts to drain but then right in mid-drain- starts to hiss and the water stops.

    At this point its been 2.5 hours I look at the guy and say “well, now you’ve seen the problem yourself” So the guy states “I don’t know why it is doing this but let me try something” He grabs the end of the drain hose and BLOWS into it. Then he tries the machine one more time- sure enough something is getting chopped up inside the machine and the water starts to drain out as it should.

    TWO dishloads later, the dishwasher goes right back to not draining properly. So once again I call the Sears Service Centre- again with the dishwasher detergent/mastercard crap and a rescheduled appointment for three days later- which was canceled the first time as “the technician was sick” then “moved to the afternoon as the technician didn’t have enough work in the am to come out to your part of the city”- even though the service centre rep said TWICE the tech would be coming in the AM.

    So the second tech shows up- very polite and whatnot, I go thru the whole speil of the issue with the obstruction. The technician takes apart the sump pump, finds a piece of plastic- apparently it belongs to one of the pumps somewhere, removes it and after 10 minutes plugs in the machine to test it.

    The machine starts to drain but only partially and is hissing loudly. The Tech looks at me “well sir, this is perfectly normal” To which I smile
    and think to myself “okay obviously this guy doesnt’ know what he’s doing and didn’t understand the description of the problem”

    So off he went and I still have a dishwasher that will not drain properly.

    I am almost ready to send the dishwasher back to the store for a full refund. But I will try a third technician- but not until I speak to the regional service manager.

    While I got prompt customer responses, the sheer lack of competance tells me that even if I did get an extended warranty, the technicians are not qualifed or capable to make the right repairs the first time.

  29. 0

    ray says...

    at least they have some service. Goemans Hamilton refused to service our LG washer, with extended warranty. do not buy extended warranties, they are a total scam. Consumer protection laws in Canada are a joke.
    Either way, if you have a washer break, it can take over a month to get fixed.

  30. 0

    Warning from Vancouver says...

    I warn everyone in the Greater vancouver area, DO NOT PURCHASE ANY HVAC EQUIPMENT, from Sears. Sears only has 7 HVAC technicians for all of the GVRD. They handle only emergency calls. Instalations and warranty repairs are done by contractors. Most of them are sloppy, poorly trained clowns, who do not care about customer service. What does this mean to you, oh possible purchaser. Installation of equipment may not be done properly. Then when it comes to warranty work, be prepared to wait and wait. Never expect to get a call back or informed as to the status of your repair. And most importantly, the contractors only work 8 – 4 monday to Friday, so be prepared to take lots of time off waiting for them to show up and of course they wont.

    I will not go into my experience in detail because it would take several pages. From the installation of a Carrier furnance 3 years ago, to warranty work required, this month – Dec 2010, customer support and satisfaction by Sears is laughable. At this point, my furnance still does not properly work after calling sears almost 3 weeks ago. 3 weeks of follow phone calls, days of taking time off work or leaving early to be home for a contractor, who never showed up. Phone call after phone call.

    Needless to say, I will not buy anything from Sears again. Not even a pair of socks. I say the only thing this company will listen to is the sound of shoes leaving their stores. is the sound of silence in their stores. I say boycott this sad excuse of a company

  31. 0

    John Horton says...

    We needed service on a washer/dryer purchased from Sears. An appointment was made, and confirmed the afternoon before the serviceman was due to call. On the morning of the call Sears phoned and said they were unable to come due to a backlog of service work.
    What is the matter with this organization? They seem to be totally lacking in ‘customer care’.
    This is not the first time that Sears has done this. We should have known better that to buy a product from them. NEVER AGAIN!!!

  32. 0

    Nav says...

    Never buy any thing from sears. There customer service is garbage. The best one is Costco.

  33. 0

    Keshawn says...

    Scores of thanks to your terrific blogging website. I utterly are keen on it and will likely be revisiting to look at considerably more.

  34. 0

    Andrea says...

    A warning to any Sears customers in Regina, SK: if you require a Sears service technician to repair any appliances avoid a tech named Nick. He is a complete asshole and seems to do everything he possibly can to make you feel uncomfortable in your own home. Furthermore, he hasn’t a clue what he’s talking about.

  35. 0

    Lyle Heller says...

    I am a stay at home dad of three girls under the age of five. Needles to say I have plenty of dishes throughout the day I run my dishwasher almost twice a day.

    On Feb 18, 2011 I called for service they said it would be 5 days before a technician would be in my area. I said that wasn’t good enough this is an emergency for my family. They said they only have emergency appointments for fridges and furnaces. I understand that is an emergency for most people for me my dishwasher not working is an emergency I do not have 2.5 hours a day to do dishes. Anyway tech came order wrong part Monday they came to install. Of course not the problem. Well today is March 1st and they will not be hear till the 8th, unreal 3 weeks to fix a dishwasher. Customer service what? I called and spoke to a customer service rep to see if they could courier the part over nigh. I explained my family situation the fact I have purchased 7 appliances over the last 5 years all they said was they were following protocol and could do nothing for me.
    As soon as the fridge and dishwasher is paid off I will be canceling my card and will never buy from Sears again.

  36. 0

    anna gellert says...

    Igot a kenmore stove and a big problem. The tech.are coming and going allmost ever other week and the problem has not been resolve ??????????? HELP what is the matter with SAERS??????????

  37. 0

    She says...

    I absolutely can not believe the horrible service Sears has provided regarding our Kenmore Front Load Washer and Dryer. They are less than 9 months old and have ruined more than $500 worth of our clothes by leaving black streaks on them. They have been out twice to fix them and their subcontracted service company has no ideas as to the cause. They have replaced the bearin and drum on the washer and now the liner on the dyer. Just after the service repair guy left today the washer decided to start something new by leaving the clothes soaked on the Express wash cycle and leaving them full of soap so I have had to call them out for the 3 / 4th time.

    I say 3 / 4th time as last week as the repair company was supposed to come out to look at the problem — they called on Monday to make the appointment for Thursday that week. They called on Wednesday to confirm the appointment. I stay home from work and at 2 p.m. they call to say they aren’t coming as they want to order parts and they will call me when they are in. When I ask the woman on the phone if she is kidding as I stayed home from work to meet them…. she has the frickin gall to say “We’re bad aren’t we?” Unreal — I was speachles…. You ignorant B***H!

    When I call Sears today to ask what they are going to do about the fact that the washer has yet ANOTHER problem the woman at Customer Service says they will send the repair company out again and that they can’t do anything about my ruined clothing until the problem is fixed and then they will discuss compensation. I asked her what the bill will be when I’m done and if they will compensate me for all my losses if it’ totals several thousand dollars by the time the fix the problem. Sorry.. nothing we can do is all I get and she suggests that I don’t use the appliances so I don’t ruin any more clothing!

    And where do you suggest I wash my clothes SEARS? Unbelieveable service … as one review said… STOP! RUN and Don’t walk…. I wouldn’t recomend a soul deal at SEARS they are not the company they used to be and absolutely do not care about their cusotmers in the least.

  38. 0

    Braden says...

    I hope the following can help prevent at least one person from ever purchasing anything, especially furniture from Sears Canada.

    We purchased a number of Natuzzi leather furniture items to furnish our basement. The problems started with delivery - almost a week late. Beyond that, the delivery people would not move the furniture into my basement even though we paid for delivery so I had to enlist my own help to get the furniture out of the hallway of the main floor and into the basement.

    It wasn’t too long before the leather started to separate from the foot-rest when the recliner was extended on 2/3 chairs and the sofa. I took it upon myself to just fix it… pulled out my staple gun and problem solved. The real problem started a month or so ago and the hardware for the recliner in the sofa is broken leaving the sofa back always in a reclined position. This furniture gets used only every couple weeks or so whenever we watch movies and I would think that a sofa that is only two years old with minimal use would last longer… especially given the cost.

    I submitted a request to Sears online to have someone come out and look at the problem and fix it. I was told there is nothing Sears can do because it was no longer under warranty. Well guess how long the warranty was expired before I reported the problem… yep… 1 WEEK!!!

    Again, I complained about how ridiculous it was that they would not stand behind a very expensive product that was only a week beyond warranty. I am told there is nothing they can do and that they have to follow their procedures and policies.

    If a company is not willing to look at least a little outside the box and stand behind the product they sell then they should not be in business. The service has been pathetic and rude and this is a huge slap in the face considering the dollars that were spent there only a couple years ago. I will never purchase a single item from Sears and I will do my best to let everyone I can, know that Sears will take every opportunity they can to back out of doing the right thing no matter how much or little you spend.

  39. 0

    Paul says...

    NEVER AGAIN! We will NOT buy from Sears. We have an kemore ‘elite’ fridge and for the second time, the motherboard or main circuit board is malfunctioning. Our food is spoiling….not only will it take a week to get the part fixed, they are charging us another $300+ to replace it. This is the SECOND time. I’ve looked around the internet and this problem is quite common and systemic with this fridge. Called them, sent to various other numbers and departments….no one will agree to cover this. Everyone on the phone is passing the buck. Sears, you are burning your bridges with your customers!

  40. Thank you so much, there aren’t enough articles on this… keep up the good posts.

  41. I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you have got hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the problem is something that not sufficient individuals are talking intelligently about. I am very blissful that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for one thing referring to this.

  42. 0

    Sean Saft says...

    I am truly thankful to author who function tough to write this write-up. Its extremely informative article. Thanks once again.

  43. 0

    Grace says...

    Sears service is the most terrible in the whole world. I have a number of Kenmore appliances washer, dryer, dish washer fridge stove, serger, embroidery sewing machine, mover show blower tractor, and a few other small appliances. Every time one of the appliances breaks I have a terrible time getting service, and all I get is excuses. I was called to purchase an extended warranty from your department, and purchased for my appliances including my sewing equipment, and the individual advised me that I could have in home service for my sewing equipment for an extra charge. When my sewing machine needed servicing I was told that in Winnipeg they do not service sewing machines in home. When I asked then why was i told that they did and charged extra for the service that is not available. To this issue was last year and to this day I have not seen a refund for the difference, although I asked to be refunded the difference. That is just plain theft. August 27, 2011 I started preparing dinner for some guest that were to arrive and put a large pot of water on my ceramic cooktop stove turned the elements on and went to the laundry room for 5 to 10 minutes. I was returning to the kitchen when I heard a loud crack/pop sound. I walked over to the stove and realised that my cooktop had cracked. I turned the stove off, took the pot of the stove and called Sears NO Parts/NO service centre. I was told that someone would be out to repair my stove on August 31, 2011, and no earlier. So much for my dinner plans. Monday August 29th I went to work and arranged for the 31st off, but when I came home a message had been left on my machine that no one would be coming because they had to order the part and it would take 7 to 10 days before it came in. I called the NO service department the extremely slow monotone answering service walked me through the prompts. Finally I got a human being and when I told her my issue and asked why not parts and when someone would be coming to fix my stove she asked me to hold and I was disconnected. Once again I called the same number and the same slow monotone voice answered this time I knew the number to press but alas the system would not let me I had to listen to the same prompts over again. I got another individual who listened to my story again and said she would put me to customer service, another voice answered customer service once again I told my story and when I was done she said you have catalogue customer service I will transfer you, once transferred I heard a recording this number is our to service and it hung up. By this time frustration had sent in and I called NO SERVICE again, once more I went through the same monotone slow voice and had to wait because the system will not accept the entries earlier. What a pain in the neck. I finally got a human being and told her my story again which my now is getting longer. She said she would put me through to customer service, when I said do not put me on “ignore this call”, I said” go on anther line get a live person at customer service and then conference me in” she put me on hold anyway, I was on hold for a while when a Filamina answered the phone, I asked her if she was with customer service she said that she was at the call centre, well I just about lost it but once again I told her my story and asked she put something on my file as to have someone call me and let me know when they will be coming to fix my stove. She said she would, but I do not know if anything was put on the file. Although she was very apologetic ther3e was no one she could speak to nor provide me with a person I could contact. This whole calling scenario took one hour of my time which is just as valuable as anyone else’s out there if not more. I will be sending
    Sears Canada an invoice for my time on the phone the inconvenience the incompetence of the Sear staff put me through and for the day that I will be off due to the promise of service and result of NO SERVICE. If you think I am upset and unreasonable, let me tell you when a friend of mine purchased a washer a dryer and the washer display did not work right out of the box and it took 6 months to have it fixed with three attempts of wrong parts being sent from Regina, and finally they took a part from a machine on the floor of a store to fix the washer. and when it took 4 tries to fix my dishwasher and every time I need something fixed it is a battle. You charge for service contracts that are not available and then have the gall not to refund the difference, you darn right I am upset. Buy another appliance at Sears, hell no I rather pay more that have to deal with you clowns again. Just for the stress you cause your customers most would rather pay more but get better service. I hope this note gets to the right hands someone who gives a damn about the store because I give you one year and if you do not pull up your socks there will be no more Sears Canada. Sears service is the most terrible in the whole world. I have a number of Kenmore appliances washer, dryer, dish washer fridge stove, serger, embroidery sewing machine, mover show blower tractor, and a few other small appliances. Every time one of the appliances breaks I have a terrible time getting service, and all I get is excuses. I was called to purchase an extended warranty from your department, and purchased for my appliances including my sewing equipment, and the individual advised me that I could have in home service for my sewing equipment for an extra charge. When my sewing machine needed servicing I was told that in Winnipeg they do not service sewing machines in home. When I asked then why was i told that they did and charged extra for the service that is not available. To this issue was last year and to this day I have not seen a refund for the difference, although I asked to be refunded the difference. That is just plain theft. August 27, 2011 I started preparing dinner for some guest that were to arrive and put a large pot of water on my ceramic cooktop stove turned the elements on and went to the laundry room for 5 to 10 minutes. I was returning to the kitchen when I heard a loud crack/pop sound. I walked over to the stove and realised that my cooktop had cracked. I turned the stove off, took the pot of the stove and called Sears NO Parts/NO service centre. I was told that someone would be out to repair my stove on August 31, 2011, and no earlier. So much for my dinner plans. Monday August 29th I went to work and arranged for the 31st off, but when I came home a message had been left on my machine that no one would be coming because they had to order the part and it would take 7 to 10 days before it came in. I called the NO service department the extremely slow monotone answering service wolked me through the prompts. Finally I got a human being and when I told her my issue and asked why not parts and when someone would be coming to fix my stove she asked me to hold and I was disconnected. Once again I called the same number and the same slow monotone voice answered this time I knew the number to press but alas the system would not let me I had to listen to the same prompts over again. I got another individual who listened to my story again and said she would put me to customer service, another voice answered customer service once again I told my story and when I was done she said you have catalogue customer service I will transfer you, once transferred I heard a recording this number is our to service and it hung up. By this time frustration had sent in and I called NO SERVICE again, once more I went through the same monotone slow voice and had to wait because the system will not accept the entries earlier. What a pain in the neck. I finally got a human being and told her my story again which my now is getting longer. She said she would put me through to customer service, when I said do not put me on “ignore this call”, I said” go on anther line get a live person at customer service and then conference me in” she put me on hold anyway, I was on hold for a while when a Filamina answered the phone, I asked her if she was with customer service she said that she was at the call centre, well I just about lost it but once again I told her my story and asked she put something on my file as to have someone call me and let me know when they will be coming to fix my stove. She said she would, but I do not know if anything was put on the file. Although she was very apologetic ther3e was no one she could speak to nor provide me with a person I could contact. This whole calling scenario took one hour of my time which is just as valuable as anyone else’s out there if not more. I will be sending
    Sears Canada an invoice for my time on the phone the inconvenience the incompetence of the Sear staff put me through and for the day that I will be off due to the promise of service and result of NO SERVICE. If you think I am upset and unreasonable, let me tell you when a friend of mine purchased a washer a dryer and the washer display did not work right out of the box and it took 6 months to have it fixed with three attempts of wrong parts being sent from Regina, and finally they took a part from a machine on the floor of a store to fix the washer. and when it took 4 tries to fix my dishwasher and every time I need something fixed it is a battle. You charge for service contracts that are not available and then have the gall not to refund the difference, you darn right I am upset. Buy another appliance at Sears, hell no I rather pay more that have to deal with you clowns again. Just for the stress you cause your customers most would rather pay more but get better service. I hope this note gets to the right hands someone who gives a damn about the store because I give you one year and if you do not pull up your socks there will be no more Sears Canada.

  44. 0

    VancouverCustomer says...

    Purchased dishwasher from Sears’s outlet in Maple Ridge 4 weeks ago. Paid for full delivery and installation. Installed by the store owner who coincidently was an installation contractor. I had a dishwasher leak about 3 weeks ago – phoned Sears to get help. Well, it’s been 3 weeks now and all they do if I call them – they keep telling that somebody will contact me within 2 days. 3 weeks!!!
    One of the reasons – the Sears franchise co-owner denies that he installed dishwasher and only delivered it to us. Wow! What a liar!
    Sears did not want to do anything about the matter. The only thing is left for me is to sue Sears and their pathetic “contractor”. So, that’s what I will probably do.

  45. 0

    Leo Tesnow says...

    The man is helping, he can say whatever he likes. It’s a well known fact that aid can disintegrate under the crushing weight of an agency’s bureaucracy, he’s just calling it like it is.Report this comment as spam or abuse

  46. 0

    Liz Nash says...

    Bought an expensive microwave from Sears two years ago, got talked into the warranty. Microwave draws too much power, caused the receptacle to melt. Have spent over $1000 on two different electricians to tell me that, and now Sears has stopped returning my calls.

    I’m not buying any appliances from Sears anymore. Costco gets my money.

  47. 0

    Riley Cathell says...

    Bitte keine Postings aus http://bit.ly/yziLHN kopieren. Danke.

  48. 0

    worldclock says...

    Sears Canada Warranty Service Canada - just great!

  49. 0

    Sarah says...

    Being a Sears customer for 25 years, their service has gone downhill. We recently purchased extended warranty with our new Samsung Fridge ($2400) 9 months ago. The fridge shuts off randomly for several hours and turns back on. It took us a while to figure out this was occurring, when once, it would not cool for more than 10 hours. The fridge display says 2c, all the lights work, but the temperature inside keeps rising.

    We called Sears as an emergency repair. They agreed.
    -It took them 4 days to show up, unannounced. No phone calls.
    -They use an email based system, and apparently, the email got lost.

    -The repairman said, we are really not sure, but probably a motherboard issue. I’ll order it.

    - 39 days later, the motherboard is not in yet. I have not received a phone call on the status. No loaner was provided by the store or service department.

    - I have been without a fridge for 2 months now.

    - Samsung does not want to deal with the Fridge, since we bought it from Sears, even though it’s still under manufacturer’s warranty.

    - I would have been better off buying extended warranty from local providers than dealing with Sears.

    - 5 Managers have promised to escalate the issue and call me back.
    Not a single one has done so. In fact, not a single person calls us back.
    We have to call and spend 45 minutes on the phone explaining the issue.

    - I’ve bought a new fridge, being pregnant, I need one!!!!!!

    That’s Sears Warranty for you.

    (I think they are bringing in US products into Canada, thus the manufacturer’s warranty doesn’t apply here).

  50. 0

    Another contractor says...

    Wow! This is something.A huge number of complains.With the new management deciding to reduce service cost even more, this page will record a mega huge number of hits in the next few weeks. The contractors are not happy and the technicians from Sears are less trained.

  51. 0

    A servicer says...

    Hi there
    Well, I am truly amazed at the number of complaints about Sears Canada.
    Here I am in the west (BC) and Sears Service does a bang up job in this area. The manager of Sears Service runs a tight ship and demands good work along with keeping customers informed and happy.

    Maybe you guys and gals need to move to northern BC to experience good service ehhh?
    Sears Canada has it’s moments BUT, my dealing with Sears as a contractor works well for me. And when things for a poop, they dig in and get it done!!!
    Maybe ya need to move into this area…we all try to give OUR customers good service.
    All we need the customer is to be there as promised, a list of whatever is happening with the product, fault codes if they show AND last but not least, the kitty litter box away from where we work, the kids out of the room, your dirty laundry out from under our noses.
    A servicer

  52. 0

    Patrick Montana says...

    No Advantage to “Sears” Advantage Program

    Canadian consumers are getting deceived by a $5.00 gift card that you get when you subscribe to Sears Advantage Program
    They promise you savings up to $1000.00/year and more. NOT TRUE
    They tell you the benefits are substantial. You receive your coupons and they are worthless
    Each offer has several conditions attached to it.
    And the item you want is excluded, always
    There are several excuses you hear for you not to use any offer or to feel any benefit to this pathetic program.

    Customers find out the hard way that their credit card will be automatically charged the annual fees
    Customers were never told that at the time of purchase

    Most customers are angry and frustrated of the dishonesty of Sears and their underhanded methods of taking your money and giving you nothing in return
    Customers call and cancel in waves when they discover they’ve been cheated and lied to

    Sears Canada is run by dishonest mangers, their soul objective is to rip people off.
    Shame on you Sears
    What goes around comes around
    Your days are numbered
    Sears Canada, you will fail

  53. 0

    Patrick Montana says...

    Worthless “Sears” Advantage Program
    Canadian consumers are getting deceived by a $5.00 gift card that you get when you subscribe to Sears Advantage Program
    They promise you savings up to $1000.00/year and more. NOT TRUE
    They tell you the benefits are substantial. You receive your coupons and they are worthless
    Each offer has several conditions attached to it.
    And the item you want is excluded, always
    There are several excuses you hear for you not to use any offer or to feel any benefit to this pathetic program.
    Customers find out the hard way that their credit card will be automatically charged the annual fees
    Customers were never told that at the time of purchase
    Most customers are angry and frustrated of the dishonesty of Sears and their underhanded methods of taking your money and giving you nothing in return
    Customers call and cancel in waves when they discover they’ve been cheated and lied to
    Sears Canada is run by dishonest scammers; their soul objective is to rip people off.
    Shame on you Sears, remember “What goes around comes around”. Your days are numbered
    Sears Canada, you will fail

  54. 0

    Patrick Montana says...

    Sears Canada Recycles Appliances and sell them as new with large discounts
    Protection Agreement
    Sears promises you, “If you have 3 major repairs in one year” Sears will exchange your appliance with a brand new one
    NOT TRUE
    Sham of a service department, with thousands of appliances beyond repair offer consumers a “Buy-Out”
    They do not replace your appliances as promised; they offer you a scrap equivalent buy out price towards the purchase of new appliances from Sears
    The demands grew ever so strong following Sears Service departments failures; Sears created a whole new buy-out department
    They offer you a fraction of the cost of your appliances as compensation
    Sears inherits the defective appliances, repair them, and put them back on the market as new ones with discounted prices
    Sears even sell you a Protection agreement on your “new” appliance
    The cycle continues, defective appliances, poor service, buy-out with rock bottom prices and back to recycling the garbage produced and marketed by SEARS
    Sears Canada is run by dishonest managers; their soul objective is to rip people off.
    Shame on you Sears, What goes around comes around. Your days are numbered. Sears Canada, you will fail

  55. 0

    Patrick Montana says...

    Sears work environment at the Montreal and Belleville call centers is a carnival of dirty sweat suits, long shaggy and dirty hair dues, drop waist pants showing ugly disgusting cracks and flip flops, it is far worse that a ghetto or a slump.
    Supervisors want you to lie to customers, sound nice on the phone, all smiles and politics but they do not care how you look like or how bad you smell.
    Supervisors want you to be a hypocritical and liar to clients but you can wear a man’s dress to work.
    Those society rejects do not bother to raise the toilette seat up and they spray all over it.
    Those should do that in their barns where they live and they have no place in a civilized society.
    Wake up supervisors; do not step away from reality

  56. 0

    Patrick Montana says...

    Sears stores and their dishonest sales people
    Sales people lie all the time whenever customer buys appliances, TV’s, sports equipment, etc.
    The sales person will offer you an extended warranty promising that it will be a “Pay Back”
    However whenever this plan is entered into the system it becomes a “Standard” plan
    Pay back will allow you to recover your original investment before taxes, but only if you remember to call within 90 days of the agreement expiry.
    Sears will not remind you or send it to you automatically as everyone at Sears lies, if you do not call within 90 days your money is for-fitted and you will never be able to recover it.
    They will send you a store credit that you have to spend twice as much if you want to redeem it.
    No one at Sears will tell you that either.
    You can not use this credit to buy electronics; again no one will tell you that.
    So dishonesty sales people will tell you one thing to make the sale then proceed with another whenever inputting the data.
    Customers who find out the hard way are disgusted from Sears lack of honesty and lack of ethics.
    Tell everyone you know

  57. 0

    Patrick Montana says...

    Tough luck
    If you purchased an appliance and the standard manufacturer’s warranty has expired
    Sears will not sell you extended warranty for those appliances
    Sears can not guarantee their appliances beyond one year warranty
    They will tell you that we have to send a technician to verify the condition of the appliance before they can cover it
    Consumer has to pay $90.00 + tax for the technician transportation + $20.00 + tax per appliance that the consumer want to cover.
    Sears can not stand by their appliances beyond a year.
    Do Canadian consumers a service.
    Tell them to stay away from this money hungry rip-off organization that is run by retards
    Tell everybody you know that Sears is a stupid organization that do not deserve to survive.

  58. 0

    Patrick Montana says...

    Sears is closing 120 stores in the U.S.A.
    Sears has a lousy track record of bad service
    They will sell you Protection Agreements or extended warranty
    Both are worthless
    Canadians should read more
    Canadians should educated themselves
    The telephone sales representatives will lie to their teeth to earn few Dollars in commission.
    Lead by a team of retarded idiots who are lead by money hungry managers, the place needs more useless managers.
    Sears steals Canadian people money and gives them nothing in return.

  59. 0

    Patrick Montana says...

    Do not Buy Protection Agreement
    Do not buy extended warranty they are both worthless
    Sears love to get your money
    Sears will give you NOTHING in return
    Sears telephone sales representatives will LIE to you to get your money
    Those pathetic liars will say anything to get their 3 or 4% lousy commission
    I call it blood money
    Payback Protection Agreements are all a LIE
    Sears will tell you that you will get your money back, a LIE
    Sears will tell you we will send you your money automatically, a LIE
    Sears will tell you can buy anything in the store, a LIE
    This is how stupid, high school drop outs became supervisors in that stupidly run place

  60. 0

    Marjory Wooley says...

    Just thouight I’d mention I came across A fantastic service for the removal of All whiteware and appliances as well as electronics and fridge freezers for recycling.Heres the details Appliance Recycling Ltd 5A Beasley Ave Penrose (09) 377 7037 or 027 272 9308

  61. 0

    Deb says...

    I bought a side by side Kenmore fridge/freezer from Sears in 2005. And “bought” into the Extended Protection & Repair Agreement… which was my first big mistake. May I tell you from my personal experience that Sears is NOT anything they were in the eyes of our parents. A good, customer service company that “cared”. My fridge veggie boxes started to freeze up, so I had a repair call out, that was at the end of Nov 2012. Jan 2, they are still arguing that it could be repaired (I have had 6 separate technician visits & the problem remained), so now they are stepping up to the plate under the “No Lemon” clause. But wait, my fridge was purchased in 2005, disregard the fact that I have paid for extended warranty since day one… so I will now be offered a buyout price based on the age of my fridge… and that this will be a CREDIT at my Sears store to go and buy a replacement. Yes, I will have to add more money to the credit to replace my fridge/freezer.
    BUYER BEWARE: Save your money on the extended warranty. Put it into a savings account to buy a new fridge/freezer because when it comes to a buyout, you are the one who will be out of pocket and spending hours of volatile discussions with Sears personnel.

  62. 0

    Connie says...

    We bought a new expensive bed on sale with Sears. We have noticed our back are getting sore after sleeping in the bed. There is two noticable dents were my husband and I sleep. we called Sears and their “furniture Medic” came and measured, wrote and took pictures. He noted that theire was a sagging occuring. Two weeks later a Sears rep called and said even thou there is a noticable flaw in the bed structure the warranty would not come into effect because there is a small mark on the fabric!! I went back to look at the mark, it was barely noticeble and it came out with a quick cleaning!! So much for Sears and their warranty!! The mark had nothing to do with the structural flaws in the mattress. We will not by again from Sears.

Comments are currently closed.